Human Rights Advocate Ales Bialiatski Wins Nobel Peace Prize Jointly With Two Rights Bodies

The 2022 Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded to human rights advocate Ales Bialiatski from Belarus, Russian human rights organisation Memorial and Ukrainian human rights organisation Center for Civil Liberties. Norwegian Nobel Committee Chair Berit Reiss-Andersen made the announcement for the 2022 Nobel Peace Prize on Friday, October 7, in Oslo, Norway. 

The Nobel Peace Prize is the most prestigious award handed to individuals, a group of people or organisations for their efforts and actions for the promotion of peace. Winners of the Nobel Peace Prize are decided by a committee elected by the Norwegian Parliament.

Know The 2022 Nobel Peace Prize Winners

Ales Bialiatski was one of the initiators of the democratic movement that emerged in Belarus in the mid-1980s. He devoted his life to promoting democracy and peaceful development in Belarus, according to the Nobel website.

Memorial, the Russian human rights organisation, was established in 1987 by human rights activists in the former Soviet. The organisation works the notion that confronting past crimes is essential in preventing new ones. During the Chechen wars, Memorial gathered and verified information on abuses and war crimes perpetrated on the population by Russian and pro-Russian forces.

The Center for Civil Liberties was founded for the purpose of advancing human rights and democracy in Ukraine. After Russia’s invasion of Ukraine in February 2022, the centre has engaged in efforts to identify and document Russian war crimes against the Ukrainian population.

As per Alfred Nobel’s will, the Nobel Peace Prize winner is “the person who shall have done the most or the best work for fraternity between nations, for the abolition or reduction of standing armies and for the holding and promotion of peace congresses”.

The winners of the Nobel Prizes in medicinephysicschemistry and literature have already been announced for the year 2022.

Past individual winners of the Nobel Peace Prize include the likes of Barack Obama, Mikhail Gorbachev, Kailash Satyarthi, Aung Sang Suu Kyi and Nelson Mandela. Journalists Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov won the Nobel Peace Prize in 2021.

Source link

Leave a Comment